[4.8.3] Sync sometimes doesn't update assets in the editor (Subversion)
We've been using the integrated Source Control (Subversion) for about two weeks now. So far, we had it happen at least 3 times (that we noticed!) that one user's submitted changes ended up overwritten by another user despite both of them using source control.
I've asked around each time and what each of these cases had in common was that the user overwriting the changes used the in-editor Sync command to update the repository. As far as I can tell, this will always bring the repository up to the latest revision, but does not always refresh the local version. (Nor does it always cause problems.) After closing and then reopening the editor, the changes are displayed correctly.
I've currently got two theories as to how this might happen: 1. it happens if the changed asset is currently opened in the editor, or 2. it happens if the syncing user has local changes
If the latter, it would be a result of the non-existent conflict handling of the editor's source control system. If the syncing user has local changes in the asset, the source control doesn't warn about the conflict. In fact, there's no indication at all that the asset was changed by anyone (other than it having been locked beforehand) seeing how the conflicted asset is displayed using the local version.
Obviously, working on assets that are currently locked by someone else is suboptimal (because the changes will have to be discarded) but is sometimes unavoidable if I want to test my changes in a different Blueprint. For example, I might have to tweak some values in the Game Mode or attach a new component to an existing character to test my changes under realistic circumstances.
asked Aug 24 '15 at 02:27 PM in Bug Reports
We were able to reproduce this and have entered a report to investigate this bug (UE-20363).
answered Aug 25 '15 at 04:36 PM
Follow this question
Once you sign in you will be able to subscribe for any updates here