Loading a project resets several config settings
When I load my project, several configuration files are reset to default versions. Things like the input configuration and engine settings are reset to absolute default values (it didn't even reset to the FPS input settings even though I created a project using the FPS template). I have my version of the settings in source control and have reproduced this every time.
My suspicions are two conditions. I tried to set up Git source control with the editor. It was working, but I wasn't a fan of it and disabled it. I also tried to create a duplicate of the the project's folder. Was it this copy that caused UE4 to be confused while discovering projects on startup? The following are my observations.
Whenever I reset my project to my Git version, the project loads with the "template_default" map instead of the map I set the starting map to. I've tracked which files change by checking the "git status" of my project before and after loading the project.
After (changes the moment that UE4 begins initializing the project load process):
The untracked file "UE4CC..." seems suspicious although it looks benign.
Every time I reopen the project, a new "UE4CC..." folder is created. I ran a test to see if changes to the affected files are reset too. I added a new action input to the project settings. When I reopened the project, a new crash client folder was created but the new action input was still there. To further this, I ran "git reset --hard" to reset my project to my original custom settings. Again, the files were reset, a new crash client folder was created, but the new action input was still there. I double-checked the file at ./Intermediate/config/CoalescedSourceConfigs/Input.ini, and sure enough, the new action input is there.
With that being said, it seems like the project is using some sort of backup data files to reset the project to. I tried deleting all of the backup and autosave files that I could find in the project, but UE4 continues to reset the ini files.
asked Sep 08 '18 at 12:07 AM in Using UE4
You shouldn't commit your Intermediate and Saved directories! Or the Build directory. They contain generated files and aren't important. You could delete those directories and everything would still work (they will get generated again).
answered Sep 08 '18 at 01:29 AM
Follow this question
Once you sign in you will be able to subscribe for any updates here