Behavior Trees Rotate to face BB Entry and MoveTo can never work together reasonably?

I’m a programmer, but I still am having a very difficult time with what should be simple AI behavior. From what I can tell if one wants to use the MoveTo behavior tree node with any sort of smooth rotation it requires setting up the character controller to allow Orientation to Movement with a good rotation rate and NOT allow use controller yaw. However, for the rotation to face BB entry, you must have the settings the exact opposite. Using the AI set focus is an entirely different means of doing things, but none of these things seem to work together and the documentation only demonstrates simplified movements following the player. I just want to turn realistically and run from the player… can’t this be done without creating a complicated codeset? I must be missing something, it can’t possibly be this hard to do something this simple, is it? I would really appreciate some help.

5 Likes

After much research, trial and error it appears that there are several values that need to be set in tandem in order to get this functionality to work. Here’s the steps for anyone else looking into this:

• Make sure Use Controller Rotation Yaw is disabled on the main component of the AI agent pawn.
  • In the Movement Component of same pawn, set Orient Rotation to Movement disabled, and Use Controller Desired Rotation to enabled.
  • Rotation Rate Z value of the Movement component of the pawn controls rotation speed. This does not take into consideration direction, so if the move to is toward a position behind the agent, the agent will appear to move backward as it rotates until forward motion takes over. Higher Z rotation minimizes the oddness of this transition.