Total noob here!

Im totally new to programing so blueprints seems like a good way to get a grasp on building logic. Ive done fairly well so fare and have done this exact thing 2 other times in this “game” im building just to learn. anyway i pull a random and then loop over an array comparing values. when the random is <= to the value in the array it should break and set the index in the variable “win index”. i have it working fine in 2 other blueprints with admittedly much smaller arrays but set up the same way. what am i missing?

Hey,

Couple questions / comments:

1. I’m assuming you’ve confirmed you’ve put values in your array?
  2. You’re sure at some point the random number you pull is definitely lower than or equal to something in there?
  3. I would probably set the winning index in your true case before you break from the loop.
  4. Your return value isn’t hooked up and is always returning 0 as your win index. Is this intended?

sorry for the late reply. yes the max value for the random is the max value in the array so it is always less than on of the values. also the return not being hooked up is because i wanted to see if setting a variable worked better. it doesn’t but it makes the event graph more clean so i kept it. i didn’t of setting the index before the break and will try that now however could you explain why it makes a difference? not arguing in any way just trying to understand.

thanks again!!